Monday, December 8, 2014

I JUST SAW MY VERY FIRST PENGUIN!!!!!! It was swimming right by the ship and it was adorable and tiny and verrrrry brave for being out in the weather we have right now haha. I do not envy it being in that water. BUT IT WAS AWESOME!!!!!! tried to take pictures but they all sucked haha :) :)

:) :) :) :) :)

We finished sampling and everything by 3 am. Olaf didn’t let me go out and deploy the float :( he sent Dan and had one of the crew help him instead. The sea was rough so I understand, but I realllly wanted to go out there!

When I was looking out the door at night I could only tell how high the waves were because of their whitecaps. And they were pretty high. Nothing crazy in my opinion though. The night wasn’t even that bad. I kept waking up because I am still adjusting to the time difference and not really because of the waves.

I am using one of the new salinometers so there’s even less to do. Don’t need to watch for bubbles in the system, and all you have to do is press a few buttons on the screen and then shake and replace bottles every once in a while. It is slow though. Took over 4 hours to do 24 bottles. And I have to wait a day or so before I can do them. So I’ve got ten sets left or 40 hours of that hahahaha. I read on my kindle as I wait. I can be the machine.

Leave a comment