Thursday, December 18, 2014

My hours are just weird. I’m somewhere in between work and half on a vacation. I only work “hard” at the SOCCOM stations because I collect all the samples. Then the other thing I do is sit at the salinometer for four hours every few days and run salts for those stations. The rest of the CTDs are nuts only, and I usually get those samples as well, but Dan and I trade off who gets stuck doing the middle of the night stations haha. SOCCOM stations we both have to be up for though because of the float and the bottle sealing for the dic/pH/alk samples. Definitely a two person job if you want it to run smoothly and quickly.

Sure I miss everyone, and things can get boring, but I am doing my best to stay positive and optimistic. It makes everything more enjoyable. :) All I have to do is walk outside if I need a pick-me-up. And I’ve read more for pleasure out here than I have in a long time. I love reading. I used to read a ton when I was younger, but slowly that got replaced with textbooks and journal articles so I don’t do it as much anymore.

“Life at sea is beautiful in its simplicity” indeed!

And later that day…

Minke whale Photo Credit: Hannah Zanowski
Minke whale
Photo Credit: Hannah Zanowski

My very first Minke Whale sighting!!!!! There have also been some emperor penguin spottings but I have not been lucky enough to be around to see them yet!

Leave a Reply

